Kilimanjaro project start!

Kilimanjaro! of course the mountain, that’s the top of the Africa! We plan to drill at the summit in September (only 3 weeks from now!!)

After I left China to Japan. I travel around my friends from Japan Alpine Club, High mountain glacier driller… to collect information for drilling.

My drilling plan is that 1), I set shallow boreholes to install dataloggers 10 different elevation, 2) I will drill 5-10 class boreholes at summit (5890m) and the edge of the glacier (4700m). There are many difficulty such as generator power down, brill bit type, dry drilling etc. for this expedition. I try to figure  now in Japan including recruiting assistant.

Typical high mountain vegetation at Mt Kenya (4800m) in 1985.

Kilimanjaro from Kenya side in 1985.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *